Sausage & Portobello Pasta Bake

Okay, so this was not planned to be a post by any means, which explains why I only have a picture of it on the plate, partially eaten, with my phone. But it was SO. GOOD. that I just had to share! Besides, I said that this blog would help me start writing recipes down and Jeremy insisted that I keep this recipe so we could make it again!

This was a pretty typical meal for me which consists of me, standing at the fridge with the door open, staring at the counter (at whatever I have already taken out), staring back at the fridge, back at the counter….you get it. It’s like putting together an outfit – what flavors match, what contrast, does it need an “accessory”? Haphazard cooking is SO fun! Like I’ve said before, it gets my creativity going when nothing else has that day 🙂 But back to my point…since I was literally putting this together based on what I had in my fridge, you could definitely play with it. A  few sweet bell peppers would be delicious. Also, I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta, and very little mozzarella (only on the top) but it would be great with more cheese mixed into ricotta/cottage cheese!

Sausage & Portobello Pasta Bake

3 links hot Italian turkey sausage

2 cups whole wheat shells pasta

1 cup fat-free cottage cheese

1 cup marinara sauce

1 portobello mushroom, cleaned and chopped

Half of a sweet onion

1 tbsp olive oil

2 large cloves of garlic, minced

1 tsp garlic powder

Fresh mozzarella (I used 3 slices off of a large ball, but bocconcini would work great here)
Parmesan cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Remove turkey sausage from its casings. Brown in pan over medium-high heat. Remove from heat and chop/crumble. Put 1 tbsp olive oil into pan and add minced garlic, cooking until fragrant. Add chopped mushrooms and onions, saute until soft.
  3. In a medium sauce pan, bring salted water to a boil and cook pasta. Be sure not to overcook pasta here – keep it firm, a little firmer than al dente, as it will continue to cook in the oven.
  4. Drain (or remove and put in your baking dish using a slotted spoon or spider).
  5. Combine cooked pasta, sausage and mushroom & onion mixture in your baking dish (or a large bowl if you need more room). Stir in cottage cheese, garlic powder and salt & pepper, to taste, until cottage cheese is evenly distributed throughout. Pour marinara over this mixture, stirring just enough to incorporate the sauce and make it “wet”.
  6. Top with fresh grated Parmesan and fresh mozzarella slices.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes, or until bubbly.
One thought on “Sausage & Portobello Pasta Bake

  1. Pingback: Squash Casserole…Pie? | the milk truck

Leave a Reply

