A Quick Tuesday Update

This post is silly.

Jeremy told me this post was going to be silly.

But I discovered something so delicious and I’ve been eating it for days and I just HAD to share it with you and I’m so excited. (No, Trader Joe‘s isn’t paying me for this and YES! that was a horrible run-on sentence. I apologize. Sometimes my words go straight from my head to the page.)

So I’d heard talk of “speculoos” cookie butter lately. Originally a  Dutch treat, I believe, speculoos is similar to peanut butter except NOT AT ALL. Similar in texture, but the flavor is something reminiscent of ground up gingersnaps…or Christmas, I’ll let you choose. I’ll admit, the gingersnap reference is what put me off at first. I am not a gingersnap fan. I’m not even really a gingerbread fan (are those the same thing?) Those Moravian cookies you get at Christmas?? No, thank you. But this… this is like Christmas and warmth and spice all wrapped up in a jar and, in my case, surrounded by vanilla wafer. Mmmmm… If you have a Trader Joe’s nearby, run – don’t walk – and buy some immediately. If you aren’t sure what to put it on right away, just use a spoon. I won’t judge.

Ready for a tutorial of how I enjoy it?? Here we go. It’s tough y’all. Bear with me.

Step 1) Buy cookie butter.

Step 2) Buy Vanilla Wafers.  (These are also from TJ’s and they’re really good. Very light vanilla flavor.)

Step 3) Assemble wafer-cookie-butter sandwich. NOTE: Step 3 is greatly enhanced if you’re on the couch during assembly as seen in these pictures.

Hold on to your pants Sandra Lee. If that’s not semi-homemade, I don’t know what is!

I told you this post was silly! Trust me, though. You’ll thank me for this later. I’ll be back tomorrow with a real post, I promise.  I’m attempting a shrimp dish tonight. I haven’t quite decided on what shrimp dish, but I’ll let you know how it goes! Happy Tuesday!! 🙂

One thought on “A Quick Tuesday Update

Leave a Reply

