Cilantro Lime Shrimp

I successfully completed my SECOND shrimp dish ever last night, y’all! And boy was it tasty!! I have to say, shrimp is intimidating me less and less these days. I have only recently started to develop a taste for it, but I’m quickly learning how versatile it can be! I’m not, however, developing a love for peeling and de-veining shrimp. I’m starting to think I should make that Jeremy’s job…

In any case, I knew I wanted to make shrimp last night so I gave Jeremy three options: 1) Shrimp scampi with country ham (yes, we’re still eating it!), 2) A cilantro lime-y Baja kind of shrimp dish or 3) Imitation Bang Bang Shrimp (which I’ve been dying to try). To my surprise (and chagrin) he chose the second option, which you can probably tell from its “title”, wasn’t really fully worked out in my head. But, despite my nervousness, I was happy with any of the three options and figured “why not make it a challenge?!”  So as I peeled and de-veined, I mulled it over and decided to keep it really simple. Sometimes the less you try to jazz something up, the more honest and authentic the flavors become. In this case I let cilantro and lime be the stars of the show, with the help of only a few supporting flavors.

Since I was making this up as I went along, I sort of added my lime juice “to taste”. I ended up using half a lime on the shrimp as it marinated, then another 1/4 wedge into the pan as it was cooking. I used the final wedge to mix into my rice before I put the shrimp on top (to create a fake Chipotle rice flavor), so mine ended up being pretty strong in lime flavor. I loved this! I think it makes it taste so bright and summery, but if you wanted a more subtle flavor, I would stick to the half lime that you use initially and then don’t add anymore while it’s cooking.  Also, like I mentioned, I served this over brown rice but it would be delicious on it’s own. The butter, lime juice and touch of oil made for a really nice “sauce” that would even be delicious on pasta!

This dish served two perfectly. We ate the shrimp mixture over about 1/2 cup of brown rice and were perfectly satisfied!

CILANTRO LIME SHRIMP


2/3 – 1 lb raw shrimp, peeled and deveined

For marinade:

1 tsp onion powder (I panicked at the last minute that I didn’t have an onion, so I added this instead. But let me know if you try it with onions!)

2 tsp olive oil

Juice of 1/2 a lime (NOTEmine were pretty small!)

1 cube of cilantro*  (equal to 1 tsp of fresh chopped cilantro)

For rest of dish:

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tbsp butter (or less!)

2-3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

1 cube of cilantro*

1 tsp lime zest

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1 wedge of lime juice (for you RealLime users, probably about 2 tsps?)

Directions:

1) Peel and devein your shrimp. Place in a bowl or bag with onion powder, lime juice and olive oil. Let sit for 10-15 minutes (in fridge).

2) In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add butter and garlic, stirring as butter melts. Add cube of cilantro, stir until incorporated. (If using fresh, wait to add until you add your lime zest) Throw in your tomatoes, stir until coated and cook for 1-2 minutes.

3) Add shrimp (and all juices from marinade). Be sure to spread them out so they’re each touching the pan and not overlapping. Cook about 2 minutes on each side.

4) Squeeze lime wedge over mixture, add cayenne & lime zest (and fresh cilantro, if you’re using it). Stir to coat everything nicely – you should have a good “sauce” by now.  Salt & pepper to taste. Serve over rice, pasta or on its own! ENJOY!

*NOTE: I used my Dorot frozen herb cubes here. These worked beautifully for this recipe! 1 cube = 1 tsp fresh herbs.

ALSO NOTE: I’m going to alert you to any “ass-friendly” “figure-friendly” dishes in my tags. I’ve never been big on “diets”, per se, but I often have to coax myself back into my healthy eating habits after falling off the wagon for awhile, so these will indicate dishes that are a little more health-conscious (but not necessarily fat-free). I still think it’s important to eat a balanced diet, including healthy fats, but these can be easily substituted for lower fat options, which I’ll note.

Leave a Reply

