Smoky Kale Chips

So I’d seen these floating around the blog-o-sphere for months now, maybe even a year or so, but I just hadn’t been able to wrap my brain around them until now. This is odd, of course, because anyone who knows me knows that I’m usually pretty likely to order anything…with a side of greens. Kale, Collards, Chard, Mustard Greens…  I don’t discriminate. I can easily sit down for dinner and be happy as a clam eating nothing but an entire bowl of sauteed greens. I don’t even need the added flavor of a ham hock or bacon fat, contrary to common Southern tradition. (Although, that’s never a bad idea)  😉 But kale CHIPS?? Let’s just say, I needed a few months to allow those words to marinate in my head a little before taking the plunge.

To my surprise, however, they are QUITE tasty and will definitely be making a frequent appearance in my kitchen from now on!

Smoky Kale Chips

Start with one bunch of raw kale. Cut off/out any thick stems and try to stick with just the fluffy, curly parts of the leaves. The thicker stems tend to be bitter, and I found they didn’t get crispy like the rest of the kale.

Once you have your kale cut up, rinse it well and pat dry with a towel. Now toss all of your kale pieces in a large bowl with about 1 tbs of olive oil, or as much as you need to lightly coat them.

Once coated, lay the pieces out on a cookie sheet. I tried to lay mine out as flat as possible, but I’m not sure this is necessary. I’m just a bit OCD.  😉

Congrats! You’re done with the hard part! Feel free to get creative here. For these, I sprinkled them with sea salt, garlic powder and smoked paprika and they were pretty delicious, I must say. Next time, though, I might try them with sea salt, black pepper & Parmesan. But they’ll be just as delicious with nothin’ but salt, I promise!

Now throw them in the oven at 300 degrees for about 20 minutes, or until crisp. Leave them on the baking sheet, and place it on a cooling rack to cool.

Once they cool, you’re left with ultra-crispy, light, salty goodness. And, yes, I know what you’re thinking, because I was thinking that too. “These CAN’T be good.” But I wouldn’t be posting them if they weren’t a 100% completely delicious alternative to regular chips. TRUST ME. This girl would give up dessert any day for an entire bag of anything crunchy and salty, so I wouldn’t steer you wrong.

Plus, doesn’t everything taste better when you know it’s guilt free?? 🙂

ENJOY!! 

Adapted from Deb’s recipe over at Smitten Kitchen

Leave a Reply

