Sopapilla Cheesecake Bars

You know those times when you accidentally overhear someone saying something fabulous about your outfit, or hair, or work and it just feels 20 times better than if they had come up to you and told you that to your face? Why is that?? Maybe because you know it’s sincere. They might feel obligated to say it to your face, but they surely didn’t have to say it silently to the girl sitting next to them if they didn’t really mean it.

Well I had one of those moments recently….with baked goods. Who knew that something so easy, I’m talking ridiculously easy, could turn me into the office Top Chef. I even got a special photoshopped Chef Hat in my email and everything. Woot woot! And I owe it all to Julie over at Baked In. Big thanks to you, girl!!

Out of focus…I know. I’m working on it. I won’t be offended if you go gawk at her pictures on her site…

Let me just take a minute to say here that I really am trying to work on my food photography you guys. The irony is, I’m not really that bad of a photographer in real life, but when you have a hot mitt on one hand and you’re trying to plate something but can’t find your “pretty plates” and you’re trying to beat the sun going down because the light in your apartment sucks and you just got home at 7 because you’re a commuter for your 9-5, and all the while your food is getting cold, which of course you don’t want because this is your dinner, after all…  (Longest run-on sentence ever, I know.)  But DANG! Food blogging is hard, y’all! From what I can tell I need to keep a constant mess of backgrounds and light boxes around, setup a tripod that never comes down and generally just work more on making my food look as delicious as it really is. (Cause it is, you guys….I promise.)

I’m hoping to find some food photography workshops I can attend. I hear there are some in Charleston every year which would be super convenient, but I always seem to hear about them after-the-fact. So if you hear of any, help a girl out!

If you don’t believe me when I say how easy these are, let me put it this way. I actually had to stop mid recipe and re-read the directions about four times because I seriously could not believe that I was done. It had been like…30 seconds…

Sopapilla Cheesecake Bars – “lightly” adapted from Julie’s recipe at Baked In (get it!? ha. you’re welcome for that.)

2 pkgs reduced-fat refrigerated crescent rolls

16 oz (2 pkgs) 1/3 less fat cream cheese

1.5 c granulated sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 stick of butter (maybe a little less)

2 tbsp cinnamon

1) Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a 9×13 baking dish.

2) Unroll one package of crescent rolls into the bottom of the baking dish. Push/roll to cover the bottom and use fingers to seal the seams. (I also just learned that the baking industry has taken tips from the lingerie industry and actually sells seamless crescents now. Genius.) 

3) In a microwave-safe bowl, melt cream cheese in three or four 45 second intervals, stirring between each. You just want it soft enough to stir and then spread. When softened, stir in vanilla, 1 tbsp cinnamon and 1 cup of the sugar. Spread this over the bottom layer.

5) Unroll second can of crescent rolls and spread over cream cheese layer. Seal seams with your fingers, or if you’re going seamless, take the 8 seconds you would have used here to pat yourself on the back.

6) Mix remaining 1/2 cup of sugar with 1 tbsp cinnamon and set aside.

7) Melt butter in the microwave. Pour over top layer, and spread evenly. I don’t own a basting brush for some odd reason so I used the back of a spoon. Sprinkle cinnamon-sugar mixture on top.

8) Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until top is browned and mixture is bubbling. Cool completely before cutting. Serve cold or at room temperature, like you would cheesecake.

Seriously, it looks like more than it is. I made these twice last week….TWICE! Once for my office and then once again that weekend for my roommate and boyfriend who were both begging me to make more. The second time I made them I didn’t even have to look at the recipe because they’re that easy.

Now I’m just dying for someone to invite me to a last minute pot-luck so I’ll have an excuse to make them again.  😉

2 thoughts on “Sopapilla Cheesecake Bars

  1. Cheese cakes tastes oh so mouth watering, I can chew them all they long. My mom used to bake lots of cheesecakes when i was a child and this was favorite since then. ;.””,

Leave a Reply

