Bourbon Peach Pie & a birthday mishap

The 4th of July is a special holiday for my family. It’s not really an outspoken “family holiday”, but it’s kind of just silently known that we’re all going to end up at the lake for the 4th. Every year since as long as I can remember, we’ve spent the 4th at SML, perched on the dock or someone’s top floor balcony watching the fireworks. Just as fun as the fireworks are the tiny red, green and white lights of the boats gathered out in the middle of the main channel. They move in slowly during the evening to find a spot, then we watch as they all start moving at once shortly after the grande finale.  It’s kind of like a Christmas light show in July…

Photo courtesy of C. Grant Linderman II. Visit his flickr page here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/lindermangrant/

My Dad’s birthday is the next day, on the 5th, so the celebration just continues through the whole weekend. So fun!! What a great holiday to share a birthday with! Nothing but cookouts, cool drinks and floating in the water with the fam.

This year, Dad said “no presents! I just want everyone here!”. Well, that’s just never gonna happen, because we love birthdays in this house, so it has to be recognized SOMEhow.  So in lieu of a gift, I decided to try my hand at a homemade peach pie, with fresh South Carolina peaches. I peeled and cut up peaches for an HOUR, put it all together, cooked it to perfection, then used all of my willpower not to devour it while it cooled on my countertop. This was about four days ahead of leaving for the weekend, so I figured I would pop it in the freezer and then take it out when I was ready to leave. So early Saturday morning, I packed up all my stuff, dragged out my huge cooler and filled it with ice, all to keep my one little pie cool during the trip up. Then off I went!

Saturday evening, after dinner, I tell my Mom that I’m going to pull the pie out and stick it in the oven for dessert. Well my face was probably PRICELESS. I pull that thing out of the plastic bag, start to take off the tin foil, and that’s when I saw it – UNCOOKED. CRUST. And then I knew… You know how Marie Callender’s frozen pie crusts come in packs of 2? Well, apparently, I’d wrapped that extra pie crust up so similar to my pie that I faked myself out. EMPTY PIE CRUST. It even still had the little paper in it that they put between the two crusts.  *SIGH*  Well….I guess there’s no telling people I made my crust from scratch. Happy Birthday to you, Dad! Hope you enjoy your pie crust!  😦  Sad.

So, the end of the story is…  My roommate, my boyfriend and I ate Bourbon Peach Pie last night, for no real reason at all, complete with homemade vanilla whipped cream, and it was delicious! And now I owe my Dad a BIG OL’ cake the next time I go home.  Cookies ‘n cream cake, anyone??  😉

So it kind of turned out more like a cobber once we got it on the plate, but it was still tasty! Ugly food is always the best anyway, right?? Right. I’m glad you agree. Perhaps next time I’ll skip the pie plate and just make it in a casserole dish so we can scoop it out more easily!

Bourbon Peach Pie w/ Fresh Vanilla Whipped Creamadapted from Foodologie

1 frozen pie crust – No, I don’t make my own. [insert shocked gasps here] I prefer when Marie Callender does my dirty work

Fresh Vanilla Whipped Cream* – see recipe below

For filling:

6 peaches, thinly sliced – You don’t have to remove the skins, but may want to for texture reasons

1 cup sugar

1/4 flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3 tbsp good Bourbon – *Remember, if you wouldn’t drink it, don’t cook with it! I used Basil Hayden’s 

For crumble topping:

1/2 c flour

1/4 c brown sugar

2 tbsp white sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

pinch of salt

3 tbsp butter

1 tbsp bourbon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1) Prepare the filling. I put all the ingredients listed for the filling into a giant Ziploc bag and kind of tossed it around a bit. They mentioned this in the recipe I referenced and it made things really simple – less cleanup! 

2) Set the filling aside and make the crumble topping (I also did this in a Ziploc bag). Combine dry ingredients – flour, brown sugar, white sugar, cinnamon & salt. Add butter, using your fingers to work it into the mixture. You may have to get your hands in there now. Then drizzle the bourbon in and toss it around to combine it all. Your mixture should get crumbly. Mine was a little “wetter” than I think it should have been, I tend to use bigger “splashes” when it comes to things like bourbon, but it still worked fine once it was cooked.

3) Pour the filling into the crust and arrange it evenly, but slightly mounded toward the center. It will spread toward the edges as it cooks, so this will prevent overflow. Top with crumble topping.

4) Place on a baking sheet and bake 45-50 minutes, or until fruit mixture is bubbling and topping is golden brown. Cool completely, then top with Vanilla Whipped Cream and serve!

Of course you don’t have to make your own whipped cream, but if you’ve never done it, I highly recommend it. Fresh whipped cream just takes everything up ten notches a notch. It’s also one of the easiest things ever to make! So why not?! For traditional whipped cream, all you need is cream and sugar, but the vanilla bean makes it a lot more addictive. Prepare to lick bowl.

Fresh Vanilla Whipped Cream

1/2 c whipping cream

1/2 c Half and Half

1/4 c powdered sugar

1/4 of a vanilla bean

2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix your cream and half-n-half in a metal mixing bowl with a whisk attachment. Be sure that your cream and your bowl are cool, put the bowl in the fridge beforehand if you have to. Once you begin to see the whisk leave marks in the cream, scrape the vanilla bean into the mixing bowl and add the vanilla extract & powered sugar. Continue whipping until it gets thick and fluffy. The whipped cream should form peaks.

2 thoughts on “Bourbon Peach Pie & a birthday mishap

  1. Basil Hayden’s…..Thanks Tom! Can’t wait to try this pie. Your expression was priceless when you pulled it out of the frig….!!! XX

Leave a Reply

