Banana Bread Oatmeal

Now that detox is over – WE SURVIVED! (more on that in a later post) – I’ve been trying to focus on planning out my eating routine to make it healthier, especially during the week, and also find ways to make it easy. After all, no one can stick to a healthy living routine unless it’s just that…a routine. It has to be easy, do-able, not incredibly expensive and flexible enough that you can conveniently change it up when you need to. But aside from all this planning, it sure has been nice to get back to some of my “everyday” meals – especially at BREAKFAST! Hooray for getting greek yogurt back! Oh, how I’ve missed you!!

I will be the first to admit, my breakfasts are very routine during the week.  I pretty much alternate oatmeal and greek yogurt w/ fruit or granola every. single. day.  On the weekends, I’ll either make eggs & grits, or talk Jeremy into taking me to brunch 🙂  But during the week it’s the same ol’, same ol’ every morning. Oddly enough, I never get sick of it. The smoothies I’ve made every morning during the detox have really been convenient though. I imagine those will now be a part of my daily circulation! (I’ve mastered a green monster smoothie that tastes strikingly similar to this!)

Does anyone else out there have breakfast routines? Lunches are my time where I really have to mix it up to keep myself interested, but breakfast and dinner can often be the same thing over and over again, and still keep me happy!

bananabreadoatmeal2

This recipe is super easy. In fact, I’m not even sure I would call it a “recipe” because there really isn’t any cooking involved. But if you’re like me and you eat the same old stuff all the time, it’s a nice way to change it up and really make yourself feel like you’re indulging! (But you’re not! I promise!)

BANANA BREAD OATMEALA Milk Truck Original!

Serves 1

1/3 cup instant oats – I use TJ’s Steel Cut Oats bc I like the chewier consistency, but any regular (non-flavored) oatmeal will do! 

3/4 cup water

1 banana, sliced into “coins”

1 tbsp almond butter

1 tbsp brown sugar (optional – I find it’s sweet enough without it!)

2 tbsp Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (also optional, but it makes it creamy!)

1-2 tbsp chopped walnuts

cinnamon

nutmeg

 

1) Combine your oats & water. Microwave for about 1.5 – 2.5 minutes, or until cooked. (Basically…follow the directions on the back)

2) Stir in your almond butter until it is melted. If you’re using the brown sugar and/or almond milk, you can stir that in here as well. Top with sliced banana, cinnamon, nutmeg and chopped walnuts.

NOTE: I don’t measure my spices, but I do put more cinnamon than nutmeg. I’ll admit, I shake an obscene amount of cinnamon in there, but that’s kind of up to you. Add as much or as little as you want!

3) Stir to combine all the goodness into one bowl and EAT UP! It’s the best quick breakfast for a rainy or cold morning!

 

4 thoughts on “Banana Bread Oatmeal

  1. ah! The phone does work!

    So I was going to say…this sounds amaze! And I eat yogurt & granola or peanut butter toast everyday. With a HUGE glass of milk! But I am going to try this oatmeal! mmmm

    • Ash – You can use peanut butter in it, but I find it tastes more like banana bread if you use almond butter. It’s less overwhelming! (Although, PB is overwhelming in a fabulous, fabulous way)

  2. This sounds delicious! I, too, run through the same breakfast circuit — greek yogurt, oats, and smoothies. If I’m running really late, I’ll sometimes grab a frozen blueberry waffle (but those don’t keep me full half as long as my regular stand-by’s).

Leave a Reply

