Roasted Veggie Power Bowl w/ Avocado Pesto

Y’all, guess what?

I made a vegan meal by accident.

And it was really good.

I’ve decided recently that I need to start actually making the recipes that I’ve pinned (as you know, recipes aren’t really how I roll). So I was browsing my “Healthy Bites” board and came across this tasty veggie bowl from Oh She Glows. Now technically, I wasn’t doing my job here because I’ve actually already made this recipe…sort of. I mean she’s a vegan, so naturally when I made it, my version included lots of Parmesan cheese and maybe even some feta. So last night, instead of reading/following the recipe, I used it as a guide and did my own thing. And then….

2small…without even realizing it, I sat down to eat my dinner creation and realized – there’s not a lick of cheese in this bowl! Or dairy of any kind!! I then I think, oh my – there’s NO MEAT EITHER!

Did I just create a vegan-friendly, possibly gluten-free dinner by accident? My goodness, I think I did!

[pats self on the back]

And then I said, “Go you!” out loud…to myself….on the couch….alone in my apartment.

ROASTED VEGGIE POWER BOWL w/ AVOCADO PESTO (vegan/vegetarian) – inspired by Oh She Glows

Serves 5-6 as a meal (lots of leftovers for lunch!)

Ingredients:

2 medium zucchini quartered and sliced 

1 large yellow squash – quartered and sliced

1/2 small Vidalia onionchopped

1-1/2 cups farro(could sub quinoa, or brown rice)

1-2 large handfuls of arugula (could sub spinach)

1/2 avocado

3 tbsp fresh lemon juice

2 cloves of garlic

1 large handful of fresh basil

2 tbsp chopped walnuts

olive oil

salt + pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

1 – In a metal roasting pan – toss your sliced up squash, zucchini & onion in a little olive oil, salt + pepper. Place in hot oven and roast for about 20-35 minutes, or until cooked through and a little brown.

2 – Meanwhile, in a medium/large pot bring 3 cups of water to a boil. Once boiling, throw in your farro. Stir and bring back up to a boil, then lower heat to simmer and cover. Cook until farro is tender (about 30 minutes), then drain any excess water.

3 – Make your Avocado Pesto: In a food processor, combine avocado, garlic, basil, walnuts, lemon juice and about 3 tbsp of olive oil. You may find you need to add a little water to get it going….or you may have an awesome processor and can skip this step. Add salt + pepper, to taste (I usually do this after it’s all combined to be sure I don’t add too much). Set aside in fridge.

3 – Once your veggies are done – combine farro & roasted veggies in a large bowl (I used my roasting pan because it had tall sides and the heat helped the arugula wilt). Immediately throw in a couple handfuls of arugula. Toss mixture until everything is well-combined and arugula has begun to wilt.

4 – Serve in bowls and top with a HUGE ladylike-sized dollop of avocado pesto.

 

The avocado pesto is really where the flavor is so don’t hold back on that! I put a big ol’ spoonful on top and stir it all around before digging in. It doesn’t look pretty, but it makes for a really satisfying, and healthy meal!

Also, if you’re not big on vegan anything and want to add a little depth to it, add some feta into your farro/veggie mix, or forget the avocado and top it with regular basil pesto (oh hey, Parmesan! I’d knew you’d work your way back in here.)

HAPPY FRIDAY Y’ALL! 

2 thoughts on “Roasted Veggie Power Bowl w/ Avocado Pesto

Leave a Reply

