Fresh Blueberry Tart w/ Lemon Cream

How often do your tastebuds change?

I’ve always heard every 7 years, but I’m not sure how accurate that is. In any case, mine must be in the middle of a major overhaul because I feel like in the past year I’ve suddenly found myself, not only liking foods that I didn’t before, but kind getting a little obsessed. My latest food crush? Fresh blueberries. It’s not that I didn’t like blueberries before, but I sort of only just tolerated them. My grandfather grew them in his gorgeous garden of a backyard down in Georgia, and growing up, when we visited my grandparents, it seemed they were always on the menu. Not wanting to be rude, of course, I would eat them. He was always so proud of his new “crop” of blueberries, figs and wax beans that no one would ever have the heart to refuse them! Now I still haven’t learned to love wax beans quite yet, but those blueberries and figs? Boy, did I have it made back then and I didn’t even know it! Shame on me for not appreciating his fresh bounty! These days I can’t get enough of either…like sweet summer candy.  

I have to admit that this was just my first pass at this tart (as you can tell from the one instagram photo I took of it), and typically I like to test things a few times before passing it on to y’all. But I posted a pic of this on instagram and everyone got so darn excited that I figured I’d share it before the holiday next week. It would make a really great addition to a July 4th cookout! (That’s why I tested it out, after all!) 

2

 

I took this recipe almost straight from an old Gourmet Magazine recipe (may it rest in peace) that I found on epicurious. I did make a few changes though, mostly to make it a little lighter! 

FRESH BLUEBERRY TART w/ LEMON CREAMvery slightly adapted from this recipe

Yields 1 tart in a 9×12 pan OR 4 “medium sized” individual tarts

 

equipment: 9×12 baking pan OR four 3-3/4 inch fluted tart pans

ingredients:

1 cup graham cracker crumbs

1-1/2 tbsp granulated sugar

4 tbsp butter, melted

2 packed tbsp light brown sugar

1/4 cup 0% FageGreek Yogurt(or sub your favorite brand!)

1/2 of one vanilla bean

4 oz fat free cream cheese, softened

1/2 tsp finely grated fresh lemon zest

1 pint fresh blueberries

confectioner’s sugar, for dusting

 

directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1 – Using a fork, stir together graham cracker crumbs, granulated sugar, & butter in a bowl until well combined. Press the mixture into your baking pan or tart pans with the back of a spoon. Be sure to press the mixture about 3/4 of an inch up the sides of the pans, and make sure all the crust is pressed firmly in the pan.

2 – Bake crust about 10 minutes until it gets just slightly darker. Remove and place aside to cool completely.

3 – As your crust cools, it’s lemon cream time! Whisk together brown sugar & greek yogurt until the sugar is dissolved. Scrape the “caviar” out of your vanilla bean and combine into this mixture.

4 – In a separate mixing bowl, beat your cream cheese until smooth, then add your brown sugar/greek yogurt mixture. Zest your lemon right into the mixing bowl and beat until well combine. (I went a little heavy on my lemon zest….blueberries & lemon together are heaven!)

5 – Spread your lemon cream in a very thin layer over you crust. Top with blueberries. I spread mine out evenly with my hands so that none of the berries overlapped, but you certainly don’t have to be so OCD! 

Dust with powered sugar just before serving, and serve with a big ol’ scoop of vanilla ice cream! 

NOTE: I found it easier to cut after it had been chilled for a bit, so if you think about it, maybe make it a little bit ahead of time and let it rest in the fridge for an hour or so before serving! 

I’m heading home this weekend to spend a WHOLE WEEK with my family! I seriously cannot wait. It will be a vacation full of floating, laughs, Mom’s cooking and fireworks! My favorite time of year!! I plan on making this again on the 4th but I’ll be using both blueberries and raspberries (and maybe even some blackberries) – with the ice cream it’ll be RED, WHITE & BLUE!!  🙂

Have a fun & safe holiday everyone! And as you’re celebrating next week/weekend, don’t forget to THANK & BLESS OUR TROOPS for giving us this amazing freedom that we get enjoy each and every day! 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Fresh Blueberry Tart w/ Lemon Cream

  1. Pingback: Post-Holiday check in! | the milk truck

  2. Pingback: Figs 3 Ways – Super fast appetizers are the best! | the milk truck

Leave a Reply

