Post-Holiday check in!

Hello!! I hope everyone had a good holiday. Fourth of July is one of my favorites. I’m not sure why, exactly, but I think it has something to do with always being at home with family and being on the lake. It’s just a really relaxing, fun time every year, no matter the weather! 🙂

I mentioned in my last post that I had originally planned to post the blueberry tart after making a patriotic version over the 4th, but decided to put it up ahead of time in case someone wanted to do the same! Well I did make it and it was beautiful and a total hit!! Everyone loved it and we loved having something light & “semi-healthy” to have after dinner. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Below are some pics of it and from our week/long weekend at the lake, taken by myself, my friends and my family.

Red, White & Blueberry Tart!

Red, White & Blueberry Tart!

tart1

My favorite place on earth...

My favorite place on earth…

The much-awaited pork butt!

The much-awaited pork butt!

New green kayak!!

Spontaneous trip to Roanoke = new green kayak!!

Our view of heaven from the dock.

Our view of heaven from the dock.

The biggest shrimp EVER.

The biggest shrimp EVER.

No surprise that most of these pics are of food, right?? I’m on a major detox this week… My good friend, Kayla, came down from Maryland and spent the long weekend with us. She brought us some tasty treats from her home state, including some of the best crab cakes I’ve ever had!! (which we ate too quickly to get a blogworthy pic of…)

Red, White and Blueberry tart turned out fabulously, don’t you think?! Much prettier than last time. I made the crust in a spring form pan, then removed the sides and placed it on a platter for serving (with the bottom of the pan still underneath). It worked beautifully!

Another food highlight to the weekend was the pulled pork my brothers made. They’d been planning to check a major “to-do” off their life list by seasoning and smoking a pork butt to make pulled pork for us. Low and slow it was….and it was SO good! They’re definitely going to have to make that a tradition. Plus it lead to many a “butt” joke all weekend…we’re so mature. It just never gets old. 😉 If you’re ever in the market for a charcoal grill, The Big Green Egg is the way to go. No question. They bought the butt from The Meat House in Raleigh, which is also where those COLOSSAL shrimp above came from, and some of the best steaks I’ve ever had. Ever been? They have amazing stuff! Part of me is almost glad I don’t have access to one here – I’d be out of money & my cholesterol would be through the roof! 😉

 What did you do over the holiday? Any good recipes to share?! 

One thought on “Post-Holiday check in!

Leave a Reply

