Life Lately

Sometimes I enjoy taking a moment to recharge  and reminding myself how much good there is in my life, how much I have to be thankful for, and how sweet life is. It seems a little crazy that we have to “remember” to do this, but it’s so easy to get caught up in the bad sometimes, however large or small – especially in your late 20’s. Little stresses at work, not being where you want to be, either personally or professionally. But it’s nice when something – almost daily – puts things into perspective and gives me that moment of “Leila, what the hell do you have to complain about?” I love my family, we’re super close and I’m so grateful that we talk in some way, shape, or form every day. I have an amazing boy who loves me, good friends, we live in a great apartment, we’re both employed, and we live in a town that we LOVE, with a ridiculously low cost of living to boot (which I’m reminded to be thankful of every time a “city friend” comes to visit and tells me horror stories about their rent).  I’m looking at you, DC friends… 😉

smile

On that note – Let’s talk about how your “Mid-to-Late 20’s” are a really strange time. You’ve gotten used to living on your own for the first time in your life, you may even be truly living by yourself which is strange thing to get used to after having roommates all through college. You’re probably still more dependent on your parents than you’d like to admit (or in my case, my parents and my big brothers – without whom, I wouldn’t be able to make any major life decisions). Hangovers are way harder than they used to be….WAY harder. You’re starting to find out that Friday nights are much more valuable than they used to be and suddenly things like Dateline or finding a place with a good salad bar get you super excited. You may be newly engaged or newly married, or waiting on a ring, or waiting for the man of your dreams. You’re probably not 100% satisfied with your job yet, and find yourself daydreaming about being the one who “gives the go ahead” on projects and then goes back into their corner office to do….well….I’m still figuring that one out.  I mean I’m having a great time, don’t get me wrong, but I think one too many Rom-Coms illustrated the Late 20’s era to be something much more glamorous than it is. We’re all just trying to have a good time here while we figure out what the heck being an adult is all about. Am I right? So is it crazy that I kind of want to say – “Bring it on 30’s!”…?? I mean I’m definitely in no rush to get there, but I guess I’m just getting to the point where “30” isn’t as scary as it used to be.

…..and that’s a little scary.  😉

Just a few things that have been on my mind! Now on to the fun stuff. Here’s a recap of life lately:

Fall for Greenville - view from SIP

Fall for Greenville – view from SIP

FFG-2

Fall for Greenville

We had an awesome time at Fall For Greenville, as usual! Such a fun event! The weather was perfect – not quite “fall” but definitely lovely for a night outside. We had some great food from Soby’s, Passerelle, Larkin’s, The Trappe Door and Saffron. I hit a wall after my fourth sampling…it was time to go home.

5 years!

5 years!

Jeremy and I celebrated FIVE WHOLE YEARS together! Can you believe that?? Feels like yesterday. That also means we’ve been out of college for over four years, which is enough to give a girl the shivers. Yeesh! Can’t believe it. We technically don’t remember when we started dating (we’re so romantic, I know) so we usually just pick a day and celebrate when it’s convenient. Depending on which friend you talk to, we started dating anywhere from August  to November, but it was definitely some time in the year 2008! At least we have that much right! The best thing about a made up anniversary though? You can celebrate it however many times you want! Need an excuse to try out that expensive new restaurant? It’s our anniversary. Wanna order that decadent dessert thing on the menu? Anniversary Dessert. Wanna plan a trip somewhere? ANNIVERSARY TRIP! I highly recommend this to anyone who’s newly dating. Be vague. It makes for better celebrating!

James-HalfBirthday

Who makes the cutest babies in the world? Oh, you know….my siblings.
Photo by Bow Tie Collaborative

It was also my new nephew’s HALF BIRTHDAY yesterday!! Can you believe that!? 6 months in this world. Man, time flies. Is he not the cutest? [This pic care of his Dad & Mom over at Bow Tie Collaborative] I mean really, guys. I know everyone says that about their kid or their nieces/nephews, but seriously…mine are cuter than yours. Don’t be jealous.

See what I mean, though?? SO much to be thankful for! 🙂

I hope you guys have an AMAZING Friday!! TGIF! 

Leave a Reply

